PR: It’s Not All BS

Behind every Famous person, political campaign, company or growing business, you need someone pulling strings to make the general public like you. Yes, like you.

At an elementary level, that is what I tell people when they ask me to explain my major.

If you Google “public relations”, the following definition will appear: “The professional maintenance of a favorable public image by a company or other organization or a famous person.”

Say Donald Trump walks out to the podium and makes an offensive comment about a whole group of people based on his own preconceived ideologies; well I’d be the guy to clean up after him.

At least that’s a portion of the job.

Maybe I work for Nordstrom and we are looking for an upper-middle class, stylish representation of our company.

 Whose are target customers? What kinds of campaigns can we launch to get them to shop here? How do we keep our image and drive our bottom line up?

 I’d probably be in those discussions as well.

And the most basic and derogatory understanding of a PR professional; how do I trick you into buying our stuff, or eating up all this bullshit that I am shoving down your throats through advertisements, social media and news conferences.

I’ve heard the term “spin doctors” once, but like any occupation, one can thoroughly abuse the power they have.

PRSSA calls public relations a “strategic communication process that builds mutually beneficial relationships between organizations and their publics.”

I prefer this definition simply because the addition of the phrase “mutually beneficial”, because that’s how I’d like to see the work I do in the future. I’d like to live in a “how can we help each other world.”

As one can see, there are many ways a PR professional can take their career. Politics, sports, retail, etc. but me? I’d like to somehow make a difference.

As a community worker and Higher education advocate, I’d like to work for a non-profit. Run their social media page, advertise resources to the public, you know, that kind of stuff.

Surprise, were not all in it for a quick buck, although it be nice as a struggling millennial who wants to have his own car, own a home and take picture book summer vacations with the family (still crossing my fingers).

Seriously though, it’s not all BS. With the rise of social media it’s a fun job to try and get people to notice you, work with you, and, depending on where you work, use your company.

It allows you to be creative, coordinate events, tell stories, and make short films. The opportunities with PR are endless.

I’ve always been indecisive about what I wanted to be. That’s why PR is perfect for those, who like me, want to do everything…and maybe we have a knack for swindling people to.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

