Drowning in leis

13450932_1073317532742797_6685346666746591139_n

If there is one thing I appreciate about my Samoan culture, and most Polynesian cultures for that matter, it is the way we celebrate graduation.

To many graduation is important, to others it is a simple stepping stone in life, but to Samoans? It feels like the BIGGEST deal in the world.

Naw, for real.

Like you just won the Super Bowl on the game winning throw.

And saved someones life on the way to the end zone.

While the stadium was on fire.

You get the point. it’s pretty epic.

With that said, Summer is right around the corner and soon enough myself– and many other Polynesians around the world– will have a Facebook, Twitter and instagram feed full of outlandish amounts of leis on one poor Poly kids neck as he teeters around trying to take pictures with his hundred-something long line of relatives.

When i say “outlandish,” i mean exactly that. Your lucky if these intricate homemade leis filled with money, candy (sometimes food) and many other gifts allow you to see through the crevices of their plastic, let alone breathe.

988505_479568632117693_1210273511_n
Me (left) and my brothers Jordan (right) and Christian (middle) celebrating Christians graduation from Western Washington University.

This past summer was perhaps the craziest.

I saw blown up cut-outs of kids faces, large 10 x 10 ft. quilts with their students names stitched into its fabric, and my personal favorite:

Humongous crowns made of money.

It was like every family was competing for who gave their child the best celebration, gifts and love.

At first i thought it was funny and sometimes over the top, but then i thought, why? why do we do this? is it really that important?

The answer now that my college graduation is months away is conveniently, YES! haha

Seriously though, why not? Now don’t get me wrong, we don’t need any of that stuff because we know we are loved, but I love that my culture allows us to celebrate their kids successes in the largest way possible.

I know that I’ve worked hard to get here and that college wasn’t easy. My parents didn’t go to college, so i had to figure a lot of this stuff out on my own and it’s okay to be proud.

I also love how much that support motivates me.

Senior-itis is real and being so close to done makes you want to take your foot off the gas right?

Naw.

Not with my support system. Not with the greeting party that will be waiting for me when i finally do it!

So Poly families, keep celebrating each other. It’s not about the parties, money or celebration. It’s about telling each other how proud we are.

It’s about acknowledging our gifts and celebrating our successes.

Because at the end of the day, your kids know that they’re drowning in so much more than just leis!

 

 

Leave a Reply

