The Problem with Blogging for Class

Okay, let’s set the record straight. I like to blog. It allows me to give my perspective, opinions and tell stories.

It’s a great way to set a personal brand for yourself and a great way to– if your a decent writer– showcase your skills

But in most of my PR classes we have blogs due every week and we submit them via twitter or the internet and blogging has kind of lost its flare.

If it was up to me I would turn it in personally.

Also, to my professors reading this, don’t take it personal.

I’m simply saying what most of my peers want to but won’t.

After all I’ve been taught by most of you that at the end of the day this is MY blog and I can write whatever I want.

Despite my complaining, blogging has been a good experience and I’ve had some success as a modern day blogger with blogs like “The Annoying Yet inevitable Stereotype of being a Polynesian College student,” and “How to do Homework and Hangout With Friends.”

In 7 or 8 blogs I had already accumulated over 15,000 views and visits and talked about a lot of issues I genuinely care about.

I’ve even had a Popular Polynesian author comment and send me words of encouragement which was pretty cool.

but only because I was in the writing mood.

Key phrase: “In the writing mood.”

Now some may say, “Well then what’s the problem?” or “What about when you’re on the job and you don’t feel like writing?”

Well let’s break it down.

Blogs are a personal reflection of your thoughts on whatever the heck you want to talk about.

The catch?

You publish them online.

The world-wide web.

For the whole world to see.

When you post anything you are subjecting yourself to world-wide criticism.

Since blogging I’ve been corrected on how to spell the word “principal,” not “Principle,” and told that by having grammatical errors i am “perpetuating negative Polynesian stereotypes.”

screen-shot-2017-02-25-at-1-14-22-pm

One time a blog was due the same week one of my older brothers was being charged for a crime and facing a substantial amount of jail time.

Like a good student, I wrote a blog even though i didn’t feel like it and submitted it online before once again facing negative feedback.

Don’t get me wrong, I have tough skin, but when you’re already down, don’t feel like writing and then are criticized for those same pieces you never wanted to write and publish online in the first place?

It’s overwhelming, dangerous and irritating.

Some of you may still be saying to get over it and stop complaining. Don’t worry I’ve already been told how I’m supposed to act as a Samoan student.

screen-shot-2017-02-25-at-1-14-41-pm

You want to respond and say something like “I didn’t even want to write this.” But why?

It’s too late for that.

To be fair, I’ve had many send me notes of encouragement and love. I’ve had people thank me for my writing and have–in little ways– inspired people with my experiences and telling stories.

I love this about blogging.

I enjoy writing from a personal perspective and sharing my beliefs with others.

Just not on someone else’s conditions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

