Dear PR Guest Speaker,

This is my blguestspeakerthumbog about you. Take it how you want, but it’s going to be the most honest take on what your visit to my class was like.

Why?

Because I’m running out of things to write about and it’s MY blog.

Guest speaker, you came into our class on time, I walked in late. That’s about right.

Nevertheless I thought you were funny, smart and helpful.

You work for a local company here in Ellensburg although, you know that, and you’re their “marketing Person.”

Yes, that is a direct quote from you.

You also talked about books, but yeah, you lost me there.

I don’t read so I’m sorry if I tuned out during that part.

What I did enjoy very much was your advice.

Some cliché, (I originally wrote “so” in-between some and Cliché) some helpful and some straight up eye opening.

Here’s what you had to say:

“Fail daily.”

If you’re not failing then you’re not trying. Welp, makes perfect sense to me.

“Read more than your friends do.”

Eh, you know how I feel about that.

“Be willing to try things.”

Yea Glendal, get out there man.

“Kindness is honesty.”

Okay, this one is pretty real. Honestly. Honesty is the best form of kindness. It keeps things authentic and you’re never trying to cover anything up.

You made it clear that you don’t have to be a jerk, but honesty is key.

This has given me the confidence to be honest without being mean, hence this blog that I am writing.

“You’re not doing things right if you don’t get negative feedback.”

Every athlete that I admire says the same thing.

Once upon a time I too was an aspiring athlete, and I know exactly what you mean.

I hate Kobe Bryant.

Why? Because every year he beat out my favorite team, I admire him, but he was always too great for my fandom to overcome.

Watching the way you conducted yourself during the time you visited my class made me feel human again.

When you made funny comments, you didn’t laugh at them. You skipped over them as if you didn’t intend them to be funny.

You talked abut your life’s work in a nonchalant way that I could identify with.

The truth is, I’m scared about my future.

I can’t confidently say I know where I will be in five years and I can’t confidently say I will be successful

What I can say is, a chill guy who reminded me of myself came into my classroom, and told me that I can be whatever I wanted to be

That, more than anything, will be all that I ever needed.

Leave a Reply

